New Global Plastics Treaty

Invitation to Sept 9 webinar on the New Global Plastics Treaty

THE NEW GLOBAL TREATY ON PLASTICS

What Role Should Civil Society Play?

Wednesday, September 7, 2022

9:00 am EDT / 3:00 pm CEST / 4:00 pm MSK

A Pathways through the Plastics Crisis webinar

Organized by Integrative Strategies Forum (ISF), Eco-Accord, European ECO Forum, and the Center for International Environmental Law (CIEL). You are invited to learn about and discuss how civil society organizations and individuals can help shape the new Global Treaty on Plastic Pollution now being negotiated by UN member countries.

Join us for this discussion on the new Global Plastics Treaty and the role of civil society organizations and concerned individuals. More than 99% of plastics are made from fossil fuels. Plastic pollution is a climate change issue, an environmental justice issue, a health and toxics issue and one of the major obstacles to achieving sustainable production and consumption, representing an escalating threat to both ecosystems and human health. Yet industry, institutions and households have become so dependent on plastics that there are no simple solutions.

As the UN, national governments and industry groups discuss the terms of the global treaty, announced this summer at the UN Environmental Assembly, the question stands as to what role civil society organizations should play in these negotiations. What are the issues where CSO engagement is most critical?

Speakers:

  • Andres Del Castillo, CIEL
  • Griffins Ochieng Ochola, IPEN
  • Sascha Gabizon, WECF
  • Jane Patton, CIEL

To register, please click the link below:

https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_n0-_CulsQtGQ3NDLWqV80A

“The New Global Treaty on Plastics” webinar is part of the Pathways through the Plastics Crisis series of the Don’t Waste Our Earth project.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply